22
Feb
10

Syrah/Shiraz/Petite Sirah Tasting – from the wine virgin

This past Friday’s event was one I was very excited for. As I’ve been learning more and more about wine, one of my favorites has become Syrah. The tasting on Friday was a tasting of Syrah/Shiraz/Petite Sirah – so that we could see the similarities and differences between all of the same grapes, yet different forms.

We tried some wines that I have tasted previously, and I was surprised to find that they tasted a little different when being tasted after other certain wines. It was interesting because I went into the evening thinking that one of my favorite Syrahs would still be my favorite; however, when comparing it to another specific one, it was not as flavorful.

All in all, the evening was very fun. A spicy orzo salad was prepared that made the pairing of the wines even more interesting. Also, the wine shop got in a fun, new white Spanish blend called Pazo De Monterrey that I will discuss in my first blog about the evening.

0 Responses to “Syrah/Shiraz/Petite Sirah Tasting – from the wine virgin”



  1. Leave a Comment

Leave a Reply

Categories

Recent Tweets

Pages

February 2010
M T W T F S S
« Jan   Mar »
1234567
891011121314
15161718192021
22232425262728

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 5,320 other followers

