Archive for March 12th, 2010

12
Mar
10

Donati red blend – from the wine virgin

The Donati blend was a very bold and enjoyable wine. The flavor was incredibly rich in blackberries and dark, jammy fruits. This blend consisted of Cabernet, Merlot, Cab Franc, Petite Verdot, Malbec, and Syrah. I’m not sure what the dominant grape was, but I would assume Cabernet basing it off taste.

In fact, I think the reason I liked this wine so much was that it reminded me of some really good Cabernets I have had. The fruity, jammy taste was complemented with a spicy and peppery finish – which is something I really like in wines. An interesting aspect that was brought up by Chris was that this wine was made from grapes that have really thick skin, and I could actually see what he meant by this. The bold flavor was rich and jammy and reminded me of a fleshy grape that has a lot of flavor locked in. I like the sweet pepper aspect of red wines and they tend to be some of my favorites, so I really enjoyed this wine and would like to try it again in the future. Even though it is similar to Cabs I like, it is still different, so switching it up a bit is always fun and interesting when trying wines.




Categories

Recent Tweets

Pages

March 2010
M T W T F S S
« Feb   Apr »
1234567
891011121314
15161718192021
22232425262728
293031  

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 5,320 other followers

