13
Jan
10

Introducing the Wine Virgin

Hi wine fans! My name is Justin and I’m a new marketing intern for Christopher’s Wine & Cheese. I’m an advertising major at Appalachian State University. I know a lot of about marketing and advertising, but not so much about wine. However, that is about to change.

I went to one of my first wine tastings last night, as well as a cooking class, at Christopher’s Wine & Cheese. Being a college student who is 21, I do not know a lot about wines. After the night was over, one of the most important things I learned was how to taste and smell wines. I felt a little overwhelmed, but I learned that every person can taste a different taste and smell a different scent when tasting wine. For instance, my very first “true” wine tasting was a Louis Martini Cabernet Sauvignon. I was instructed how to smell and taste, and then asked what I tasted in the wine. For me the taste was chocolate, but this is not the case for everyone.

Everyone’s wine experience is different and knowing that makes wine tasting seem a lot less scary for a college student, and anyone who doesn’t know a lot about wine for that matter.  I’m hoping to learn a lot more along the way and will be updating you all with my experiences, so keep checking back! And if you live in the Boone or Blowing Rock area (or will be visiting the area), you should come out Friday nights at 5:30 to take part in a wine tasting of your own at Christopher’s Wine & Cheese.

0 Responses to “Introducing the Wine Virgin”



  1. Leave a Comment

Leave a Reply

RSS Upcoming Events

  • An error has occurred; the feed is probably down. Try again later.

Categories

Recent Tweets

  • We had such great tasting events this week! First, Francesca Vajra of G.D. Vajra presented some of her family's... fb.me/85yqK8WdF 2 days ago
  • What talent we have here at Sunset & Vine! Our very own Bennett Larson created these fabulous chalkboard signs. Thanks Bennett! 1 month ago
  • We have exciting news! As most you know, we have run out of room in our current location. So in March we are... fb.me/2QeEySYc9 3 months ago
  • We have exciting news! As most you know, we have run out of room in our current location. So in March we are... fb.me/8EQIFY2tL 3 months ago
  • What a perfect day to celebrate Winterfest! With the brisk temperatures it was a great day to taste wines... and... fb.me/3ggyvk5Q6 3 months ago

Pages

January 2010
M T W T F S S
« Dec   Feb »
 123
45678910
11121314151617
18192021222324
25262728293031

