02
Feb
10

Nasiakos Moschofilero- from the wine virgin

The first wine of the Strange Wines, Newer Friends event was a dry white wine – Nasiakos Moschofilero. This wine was from Greece. At first look, I thought I was not going to like this wine. The wine is classified as a “dry white wine,” and it says so even on the bottle. “Dry” doesn’t associate well with me. One of the reasons I used to dislike red wines was because I felt like many of them tasted dry to the mouth. As I have tasted more red wines, I realized that this was not always the case. The Nasiakos also followed this trend – it was delicious!

The smell was a buttery, citrus scent that was quite delightful. It reminded me of some Chardonnay’s I have tasted, but with a bit of a zest. The taste was very similar to the smell although the buttery and creamy factors seemed to take a front seat to the citrus. It also didn’t have a lot of the acidity that a lot of white wines I’ve tasted have had. I felt like this balance between the flavors went very nicely and my palette seemed to think so as well. In fact, a lot of people attending the event thought so, as this particular wine sold out by the night’s end.

Nasiakos is considered an unusual wine because of it’s grape varietal and location; however, this wine is one of the best whites I’ve tried yet. The flavor is interesting and unique, but still extremely enjoyable.

0 Responses to “Nasiakos Moschofilero- from the wine virgin”



  1. Leave a Comment

Leave a Reply

RSS Upcoming Events

  • An error has occurred; the feed is probably down. Try again later.

Categories

Recent Tweets

  • We had such great tasting events this week! First, Francesca Vajra of G.D. Vajra presented some of her family's... fb.me/85yqK8WdF 3 days ago
  • What talent we have here at Sunset & Vine! Our very own Bennett Larson created these fabulous chalkboard signs. Thanks Bennett! 1 month ago
  • We have exciting news! As most you know, we have run out of room in our current location. So in March we are... fb.me/2QeEySYc9 3 months ago
  • We have exciting news! As most you know, we have run out of room in our current location. So in March we are... fb.me/8EQIFY2tL 3 months ago
  • What a perfect day to celebrate Winterfest! With the brisk temperatures it was a great day to taste wines... and... fb.me/3ggyvk5Q6 3 months ago

Pages

February 2010
M T W T F S S
« Jan   Mar »
1234567
891011121314
15161718192021
22232425262728

