05
Feb
10

Prieto Picudo Estay – from the wine virgin

The second red wine of the evening was also an interesting wine, as it took me a couple of tastes to really even get a taste. The Prieto Picudo Estay is a red from Spain. The smell of this wine was not that enjoyable- it was a very sour and earthy smell. So as I took a sip, I was expecting for this smell to be evident in the taste. This was definitely not the case.

I think I was so caught off guard from the smell not being there in the taste, that at first I couldn’t really taste anything. I was expecting a sour, acidic taste (judging from the smell), but what I got was very muted and balanced. It tasted almost as if there was no taste. After tasting a few times and playing with the wine on my tongue, the taste became more enjoyable. I realized what I was tasting was a slight taste of chocolate. It wasn’t overwhelming, but still enjoyable. I still don’t think this wine is as flavorful as some of the previous ones. And also, the next wine also had this taste of chocolate – only way better. So the Prieto Picudo was kind of lost in the mix unfortunately.

0 Responses to “Prieto Picudo Estay – from the wine virgin”



  1. Leave a Comment

Leave a Reply

RSS Upcoming Events

  • An error has occurred; the feed is probably down. Try again later.

Categories

Recent Tweets

  • Check out our selection of candles - made from bottles we sell in the store! In a variety of scents, these... fb.me/y9AfJjaP 10 hours ago
  • Tomorrow night at 6:30pm we welcome Kevin Hicks from Trinchero Family Estates to the shop to showcase a selection... fb.me/1oQ2KDQxe 2 months ago
  • Live Music tonight at 7:30! Holden Bare is back at the shop... playing from 7:30 - 9:30. 2 months ago
  • We had such great tasting events this week! First, Francesca Vajra of G.D. Vajra presented some of her family's... fb.me/85yqK8WdF 2 months ago
  • What talent we have here at Sunset & Vine! Our very own Bennett Larson created these fabulous chalkboard signs. Thanks Bennett! 4 months ago

Pages

February 2010
M T W T F S S
« Jan   Mar »
1234567
891011121314
15161718192021
22232425262728

