06
Feb
10

Nugan Estate Durif – from the wine virgin

Nugan Estate Durif (from Australia) had the following words used to describe it : “velvet, cocoa, deep, dark, cocoa.” Of course after hearing this my mouth started to water. Then I thought to myself – when does a wine taste exactly like it’s description. I expected to taste only a hint of chocolate, much like the Prieto. However, what I was in store for was quite amazing.

The Nugan Estate Durif smelled and tasted very sweet and chocolatey. Much like the description, the taste was very deep of cocoa. The aftertaste was a taste of pepper – but not the peppery taste of other reds I have had. I knew it tasted spicy, but I couldn’t exactly put my finger on it. When discussing the pepper aspect with people at my table, they said the taste was red pepper, not black, which is what I am used to tasting. Overall, the sweet chocolate tasted finished with the pepper aftertaste was an amazing pair of flavors for the tongue.

I blogged about a Pinot Grigio by La Chini a couple of weeks ago. It tasted like honey and smelled like honey. I felt like this distinctiveness was the same in this wine. Chocolate was the obvious flavor. This was definitely a great wine of the night and highly recommended.

0 Responses to “Nugan Estate Durif – from the wine virgin”



  1. Leave a Comment

Leave a Reply

RSS Upcoming Events

  • An error has occurred; the feed is probably down. Try again later.

Categories

Recent Tweets

  • What a great afternoon we had with Luke Marquis of Mollydooker yesterday. We were the first people in the state... fb.me/7l5hfeRCK 1 month ago
  • Check out our selection of candles - made from bottles we sell in the store! In a variety of scents, these... fb.me/y9AfJjaP 1 month ago
  • Tomorrow night at 6:30pm we welcome Kevin Hicks from Trinchero Family Estates to the shop to showcase a selection... fb.me/1oQ2KDQxe 3 months ago
  • Live Music tonight at 7:30! Holden Bare is back at the shop... playing from 7:30 - 9:30. 3 months ago
  • We had such great tasting events this week! First, Francesca Vajra of G.D. Vajra presented some of her family's... fb.me/85yqK8WdF 4 months ago

Pages

February 2010
M T W T F S S
« Jan   Mar »
1234567
891011121314
15161718192021
22232425262728

