17
Feb
10

Vision Cono Sur Sauvignon Blanc – from the wine virgin

The Vision Cono Sur Sauvignon Blanc was a white wine that was interesting by itself and with the hazlenut and leek soup. The smell of this wine was incredibly zesty. Smelling the Cono Sur made me brace myself a little because I felt like the taste would be incredibly acidic and zesty. However, I was very surprised since the taste was very smooth and balanced.

White wines are really interesting because I feel like the terms “citrusy” and “zesty” are used a lot to describe them, but these words are not the same at all. When I think of citrus, I think of a lemon – and zest is an orange. Typically I have not liked wines with a zest in the past. This is why I was expecting to hate this wine because of the smell. Zesty wines usually come off as too harsh to me. However, I felt like the Cono Sur was smooth, yet zesty at the same time, which provided a nice balance.

When paired with the hazlenut and leek soup, this wine was not as favorable in my opinion. The wine brought out the orangey zests of the soup, and it was an overload for me. But on its own, it was quite enjoyable. I possibly would like it even better if paired with something that could tone down the orange flavors just a bit.

0 Responses to “Vision Cono Sur Sauvignon Blanc – from the wine virgin”



  1. Leave a Comment

Leave a Reply

RSS Upcoming Events

  • An error has occurred; the feed is probably down. Try again later.

Categories

Recent Tweets

  • We are getting in the spirit! 1 week ago
  • We have new weekend hours - starting November 1st. We will be open: Friday: 11am to 7pm Saturday: 11am to 7pm Sunday: 1pm to 5pm 1 month ago
  • What a great event Monday night with Sandy Huffine tasting the fabulous Krupp Brothers wines. Thanks to Sandy,... fb.me/2vqjvhSiE 1 month ago
  • FYI - Portions of Sunset Drive will be closed today between Ransom St. and Main St. until 3pm for repairs. 2 months ago
  • What a great afternoon we had with Luke Marquis of Mollydooker yesterday. We were the first people in the state... fb.me/7l5hfeRCK 3 months ago

Pages

February 2010
M T W T F S S
« Jan   Mar »
1234567
891011121314
15161718192021
22232425262728

