18
Feb
10

Ken Forrester Chenin Blanc – from the wine virgin

Ken Forrester’s Chenin Blanc is a wine that was tasted Friday night, but was not the first time I had the opportunity to try it. I already knew what to expect because after trying this wine the first time, I decided to purchase a bottle for myself. So needless to say, I am a fan of this wine. But let me tell you why.

The smell is a very concentrated citrus, sweet smell with a small, yet bold, hint of a dark berry, possibly a raspberry. The smell of a peach is also somewhat evident. It s a very good blend of smells, and the smells are enhanced in the taste. This wine is a little acidic, but I think the complexity of the flavors make it very enjoyable.

It was paired with the chocolate shrimp and grits. I believe the wine brought out the orange zest of the shrimp – again, I was not a fan of this. So I would have to say I like this wine on its own, but with the right food, it could be enhanced even more. When discussing this wine, the idea of eating fruits with wine was brought up. This was said to be an incredibly bad combination because of all the acids. I never really contemplated this, but does make sense. I thought it was an interesting fact to learn.

0 Responses to “Ken Forrester Chenin Blanc – from the wine virgin”



  1. Leave a Comment

Leave a Reply

RSS Upcoming Events

  • An error has occurred; the feed is probably down. Try again later.

Categories

Recent Tweets

  • Tomorrow night at 6:30pm we welcome Kevin Hicks from Trinchero Family Estates to the shop to showcase a selection... fb.me/1oQ2KDQxe 2 months ago
  • Live Music tonight at 7:30! Holden Bare is back at the shop... playing from 7:30 - 9:30. 2 months ago
  • We had such great tasting events this week! First, Francesca Vajra of G.D. Vajra presented some of her family's... fb.me/85yqK8WdF 2 months ago
  • What talent we have here at Sunset & Vine! Our very own Bennett Larson created these fabulous chalkboard signs. Thanks Bennett! 4 months ago
  • We have exciting news! As most you know, we have run out of room in our current location. So in March we are... fb.me/2QeEySYc9 6 months ago

Pages

February 2010
M T W T F S S
« Jan   Mar »
1234567
891011121314
15161718192021
22232425262728

