23
Mar
10

Ozeki hana-awaka sparkling sake

While I am usually not a fan of sparkling wines, the Ozeki Sparkling Sake was probably my favorite sake of the evening. As I mentioned in the last blog posting, I have never tasted sake before. So when I held my first glass in my hand, I had no idea what to expect. 

Not surprisingly, it did not taste or smell like the masterful blends that I last blogged about. I was taken off guard a little at first by the smell – it smelled moldy. But I learned that the mold is a vital process in producing sake, and they definitely do not taste like they smell. 

The smell wasn’t all mold. It smelled a bit like a pear with a bit of raspberry. This was also the taste. Thankfully it wasn’t yeasty like many sparkling wines seem to be. The flavor was also a lot more pronounced than sparkling wines I have had in the past. It was definitely a more fruity sake and was light on the alcohol, and definitely my favorite of the night.

2 Responses to “Ozeki hana-awaka sparkling sake”


  1. March 23, 2010 at 2:56 pm

    Hi Christopher,

    I’m a broker for Ozeki Sake and happy you enjoyed the Hana Awaka so much. Thank you for taking the time to write about it. I’m curious about what else you tasted…Hana Awaka is just the tip of the delicious sake iceberg.

    Kanpai,
    Tim Hallett

  2. July 16, 2010 at 6:51 pm

    Today, one of our customers asked if we sold Ozeki Hana-Awaka Sparkling Sake. I was hoping tha someone would be able to tell me the distributor for Charleston, South Carolina?

    Thank you for your time and assistance. Take care,
    Hailey


Leave a Reply

RSS Upcoming Events

  • An error has occurred; the feed is probably down. Try again later.

Categories

Recent Tweets

  • FYI - Portions of Sunset Drive will be closed today between Ransom St. and Main St. until 3pm for repairs. 3 weeks ago
  • What a great afternoon we had with Luke Marquis of Mollydooker yesterday. We were the first people in the state... fb.me/7l5hfeRCK 2 months ago
  • Check out our selection of candles - made from bottles we sell in the store! In a variety of scents, these... fb.me/y9AfJjaP 2 months ago
  • Tomorrow night at 6:30pm we welcome Kevin Hicks from Trinchero Family Estates to the shop to showcase a selection... fb.me/1oQ2KDQxe 4 months ago
  • Live Music tonight at 7:30! Holden Bare is back at the shop... playing from 7:30 - 9:30. 4 months ago

Pages

March 2010
M T W T F S S
« Feb   Apr »
1234567
891011121314
15161718192021
22232425262728
293031  

