04
Apr
10

Revah Pomegranate Wine (armenia) – from the wine virgin

The last wine of the evening was a pomegranate wine from Armenia. Revah Pomegranate Wine didn’t have much of a smell, but there was a small hint of vegetables and an earthy scent. I could be completely off, but this wine definitely through me for a loop. I was expecting to smell fruity pomegranate when I put it up to my nose, but it was a tad different.

The taste was also a little earthy, with undertones of cherry and chocolate in the finishing. I’m not sure if I actually did taste pomegranate. The cherry that I tasted could have been more of a berry, or mix of berries. The earthiness made for an interesting wine, as it always does for me.

This event was a lot of fun and I don’t think I or the people attending ever would have had the opportunity to try wines from such unexpected places if they didn’t come. This past friday I was unable to attend because of Easter break, but the theme was “Wines from South America” – definitely a fun night I’m sure. Next week is our cooking demo – Greens, Eggs, and Ham – which will feature some traditional Easter leftovers paired with some excellent wines. So please be sure to try to make it out or read my blog next week!

1 Response to “Revah Pomegranate Wine (armenia) – from the wine virgin”


  1. November 13, 2012 at 1:55 pm

    I love pomegranite! This wine was so delicious I keep buying a few bottles every time I see it. But it’s hard to find in stores. If you know any stores that carry it in NYC or close by, please let me know. Thank you!


Leave a Reply

RSS Upcoming Events

  • An error has occurred; the feed is probably down. Try again later.

Categories

Recent Tweets

  • Check out our selection of candles - made from bottles we sell in the store! In a variety of scents, these... fb.me/y9AfJjaP 10 hours ago
  • Tomorrow night at 6:30pm we welcome Kevin Hicks from Trinchero Family Estates to the shop to showcase a selection... fb.me/1oQ2KDQxe 2 months ago
  • Live Music tonight at 7:30! Holden Bare is back at the shop... playing from 7:30 - 9:30. 2 months ago
  • We had such great tasting events this week! First, Francesca Vajra of G.D. Vajra presented some of her family's... fb.me/85yqK8WdF 2 months ago
  • What talent we have here at Sunset & Vine! Our very own Bennett Larson created these fabulous chalkboard signs. Thanks Bennett! 4 months ago

Pages

April 2010
M T W T F S S
« Mar   May »
 1234
567891011
12131415161718
19202122232425
2627282930  

