03
Jun
10

Coturri Wine Tasting with the Vintner Himself!

Coturri logo

Meeting Tony Coturri was an experience that I will never forget and that I’m glad I had the opportunity sit down, try his wine, and talk with him.  I did not expect to see Mr. Coturri walk in dressed in blue jeans and a grey beard that made him look like he was playing with ZZ Top.   Expecting my worst fears that he would be a little bit shell shocked and possibly a bit snobby to see me, an amateur, at a private tasting of his wines; but he was nothing of the sort, he was as courteous, receptive, and fascinated to see what a beginning wine drinker would think of his wines.  Needless to say he got what he was expecting, being that I loved his wine and got to talk to him and tell him what I thought about his wines.  Mr. Coturri does his wine much differently than many other wine makers in that all the grapes he uses for his wines are grown biodynamic and organic, using no pesticides to combat pests and disease.  Also, he doesn’t use cultured yeasts meaning that, whatever natural yeast is on the grapes is what is going to ferment the wine.  Wanting his wine to reflect the way that it has been produced for 2000 years, it is unfiltered and no sulfites are added at any point.   We tasted six wines; 2009 North Coast Rose Wine, 2006 Jewell Vineyards Sonoma Pinot Noir, 2007 North Coast Albarello Red Wine, 2007 Bollens Vineyard Mendocino Cabernet Sauvignon, Frieberg Vineyard Zinfandel, and a 2007 Petite Syrah.  All of the wines were outstanding in each their own way and a very unique and rewarding experience for me to be able to taste these unique wines along with the company of the vintner that made these wines.

2 Responses to “Coturri Wine Tasting with the Vintner Himself!”


  1. 1 Chris Chiarella
    June 9, 2010 at 2:59 pm

    Great to see and hear that Tony is getting the praise and recognition he deserves. The first time I tried one of his wines, his 1992 Estate Zinfandel, was when a big fan of his (Larry Severino) brought a bottle to dinner one night when we met for pizza at O Sole Mio on Chestnut Street. I still remember that upon savoring my first sip of that fantastic zin, that my eyes rolled back into my head and my knees buckled and I nearly collapsed into the booth we were standing next to! I was so blown away, and have been a loyal fan ever since.


Leave a Reply

RSS Upcoming Events

  • An error has occurred; the feed is probably down. Try again later.

Categories

Recent Tweets

  • We had such great tasting events this week! First, Francesca Vajra of G.D. Vajra presented some of her family's... fb.me/85yqK8WdF 3 days ago
  • What talent we have here at Sunset & Vine! Our very own Bennett Larson created these fabulous chalkboard signs. Thanks Bennett! 1 month ago
  • We have exciting news! As most you know, we have run out of room in our current location. So in March we are... fb.me/2QeEySYc9 3 months ago
  • We have exciting news! As most you know, we have run out of room in our current location. So in March we are... fb.me/8EQIFY2tL 3 months ago
  • What a perfect day to celebrate Winterfest! With the brisk temperatures it was a great day to taste wines... and... fb.me/3ggyvk5Q6 3 months ago

Pages

June 2010
M T W T F S S
« May   Jul »
 123456
78910111213
14151617181920
21222324252627
282930  

