14
Jan
11

Hana Awaka Sparkling Sake

Hana Awaka

Hana Awaka

When we began working on the concept of a small boutique wine & cheese shop several years ago, we thought we knew a little bit about wine and how to choose quality products. We’ve learned a ton since then.

One of the biggest learning curves for us was the arena of Sake! The only sake I had ever experienced was at an oriental restaurant where it came to the table warm to hot for service. Needless to say it tasted like goat pee smells and I instantly dismissed it as something I didn’t like. Once we got Christopher’s Wine & Cheese going, I had a couple of different distribution companies that showcased sakes in their trade shows. I was rather apprehensive as you can imagine, but they were persistent that I must give their sakes a swirl… and I thankfully submitted to that request. I found that most of the sake I was being exposed to was being served chilled to ice cold- quite a contrast!

The flavors and aromas were mild, but substantial with a clean crisp mouth feel. I found that I could enjoy sake after all. Once again, I had to but my biases from bad experiences behind me and begin a journey into the world of sake anew and fresh. I finally stumbled across what has become our little shops most popular sake – Hana Awaka.

Hana Awaka is a rather sweet sparkling sake; Japan’s Answer to France and their Champagne Region. It’s technical classification as best as I can understand is a sparkling Hyogo Prefecture with floral fruitiness that is lifted and lightened by the carbonation.

For those who are just venturing into the world of wine, Hana Awaka is a great intro to bubbles. For the rest of us out there, it’s a delightful after dinner beverage that is unique and fun, paired against a ginger-orange creme brulee Dessert becomes rather exciting!

0 Responses to “Hana Awaka Sparkling Sake”



  1. Leave a Comment

Leave a Reply

RSS Upcoming Events

  • An error has occurred; the feed is probably down. Try again later.

Categories

Recent Tweets

  • Tomorrow night at 6:30pm we welcome Kevin Hicks from Trinchero Family Estates to the shop to showcase a selection... fb.me/1oQ2KDQxe 1 month ago
  • Live Music tonight at 7:30! Holden Bare is back at the shop... playing from 7:30 - 9:30. 1 month ago
  • We had such great tasting events this week! First, Francesca Vajra of G.D. Vajra presented some of her family's... fb.me/85yqK8WdF 2 months ago
  • What talent we have here at Sunset & Vine! Our very own Bennett Larson created these fabulous chalkboard signs. Thanks Bennett! 3 months ago
  • We have exciting news! As most you know, we have run out of room in our current location. So in March we are... fb.me/2QeEySYc9 5 months ago

Pages

January 2011
M T W T F S S
« Dec   Feb »
 12
3456789
10111213141516
17181920212223
24252627282930
31  

