Archive for December 4th, 2012

04
Dec
12

Wine: Left Coast Cellars Cali’s Cuvee Pinot Noir

https://www.christopherswineandcheese.com/v/vspfiles/photos/153-2T.jpgI’m always on the search for a great value in Pinot Noir, however the style of Pinot Noir I most enjoy are the big, robust Oregonian guys. Therein lies an issue, most of the ones I fall in love with are considered a great value at the $40-60 range and that is not my idea of a bargain. However, most of the PN I try in the sub $20 range are too fruit controlled and lacking in body for my taste. I have in the last year found myself defining great value in Oregon’s Pinot Noir as $25-35 bottles and am content to stay in that comfort zone as there is so much demand that these values could easily command higher prices on the open market these days.

The last year or so has introduced me to Left Coast Cellars and I’m thrilled with their entire catalog of fine Oregon Wines. Left Coast Cellars’ Cali’s Cuvee Pinot Noiris a great value at $24.99. After a quick swirl, the nose is dominant with blueberry and dark cherry–not the typical raspberry that accompanies this grape. There is a slight hint of cola that is pleasing. The wine also has a rather full bodied feel.

My first impression with this wine on the palate is “big” and would pair well with a nice piece of Salmon. The cola and cherry flavors really come through and dominate the palate.

The finish is persistent–the fruit and acidity seem to be well balanced as well as the alcohol. Overall I this wine is perfect for a heavier piece of fish like Salmon or a beef filet. “Steak Pinot” I call it and steak I am having with it




RSS Upcoming Events

  • An error has occurred; the feed is probably down. Try again later.

Categories

Pages

December 2012
M T W T F S S
 12
3456789
10111213141516
17181920212223
24252627282930
31